The Yoga Sessions: EarthRise SoundSystem

By EarthRise SoundSystem

When EarthRise SoundSystem’s Derek Beres and David “Duke Mushroom” Schommer first joined together to remix a song by popular mantra singer Deva Premal, they set out to create a new paradigm as to what ‘yoga music’ meant. The result was a percussively rich, organically spacious and dubby soundscape. This approach laid the foundation for their full length album, The Yoga Sessions, a collection of 21st century electronically inspired yet organically grown original music that will redefine one’s notions of “yoga music.”

Beres knows well from his five years of teaching yoga at Manhattan’s Equinox Fitness what his students crave musically: bass. Enter Duke Mushroom, whose award-nominated album, Bole 2 Harlem, merged Ethiopian sounds with New York City rhythms. As EarthRise SoundSystem, Beres—a longtime DJ and influential music journalist—and Mushroom—a producer, writer, and performer who has played on over 50 records in the past two decades—united their experiences to create an album that moves people from the inside out, a quality apparent throughout its twelve dynamic tracks.

One thing is for certain: this is not your guru’s yoga music. This album was not only designed to work inside the yoga studio—following the arc of a class—but also in your home, at a dance club, or at a lounge after work. EarthRise SoundSystem has created an album that speaks to the 21st century world, unique and welcoming to anyone that tunes in.

“EarthRise Soundsystem is raising the vibration of the earth.” –MC Yogi

1.) Intention (feat. Morley) -2:26
2.) Desh Nayad (feat. Lital Gabai) -5:37
3.) Ajnabee (feat. Go-Ray) -6:08
4.) May All Beings -6:22
5.) Daylight As Sunset (feat. Lucy Woodward) -6:27
6.) Rama -6:34
7.) Makyen Ghrir Allah (feat. Hamid Boudai) -6:48
8.) Sombience (feat. Eccodek) -6:07
9.) Marom (feat. Basya Schechter) -5:59
10.) Let It Burn (feat. Daniel Dworkin) -4:57
11.) Daylight As Sunset (Warm Down Mix) (feat. Lucy Woodward) -7:06
12.) Embrace (feat. Morley) -3:49

Category: Chill, Music, Yoga

Type: CD

Related Items